The Catch 22 of Being an Independent Woman

I’m an independent and strong woman and all of my life have admired women and female characters that aren’t afraid to be alone and can take care of themselves.  Those are beautiful qualities for anyone to have and I do believe it’s essential to know how to be alone and happy before attempting to be happy in a relationship with another.

However, after over 33 years of living my strong-willed and independent life, I wondered why I was still alone.  Actually, I didn’t wonder very long because it became blatantly obvious that I had cultivated the idea, energy and feeling of being independent, strong and alone for so long that I didn’t know how to live any other way.

lady-36446_1280

In all of my years of living, dating and being in relationships (romantic or otherwise) I never learned how to receive from, ask for help from, trust in, and share with another person.  It was something I thought I’d never have to do but in order to be in the relationship of my dreams I knew I had to cultivate to these qualities and feelings – and learn to enjoy them.  If I wanted a partner that had these qualities then I needed to be this way, too.

Does this sound familiar to you?  Can you relate to this?

It took a couple of years of inner work and some discomfort with the change, but now I’m in the marriage of my dreams.  We share a home, a bank account and a name amongst other things.  We constantly give and receive from each other.  We trust each other.  We are open with each other.  And I feel good about it and wouldn’t want it any other way.  I’m able to be in this kind of relationship now because of the work I did with myself before we even met.

If you know what I’m talking about and still long to be in the relationship of your dreams, then begin cultivating your feminine receptive qualities now. 

Practice a breathing meditation on being able to give and receive detailed here.

Notice and appreciate anything that others do for you, even if it’s at first just the person that makes your coffee.

Say thank you.

Ask someone for something (people love being able to help).

Ask the Universe or God for something (Source loves being able to help).

Gladly accept help.

If someone has been upsetting you and you haven’t told him or her, kindly say how you feel and ask for what you need instead.

Become aware of your inherent needs, ask for and expect them to be met.

As you begin to vibrate in this receptive place and bring this into balance with your strong, independent qualities you will become aware of all the love and support you have around you in your life and more ready to receive it.

Both your strong and receptive qualities are amazing and beautiful.  Having both allows a partner to come into your life that has both qualities as well.

Do you need help implementing these qualities to find balance in your life?  I’d be more than happy to give you a free 30-minute clarity coaching session to do just that (really, I’m very happy to do it).  Please contact me at dinarobisoncoaching at gmail dot com.

With Love,

Signatureforblog

 

 

Leave a Reply

